Stuck x Block (+ E-bservations) = goodPost

Observation #1. I find it funny how my blog name ends up being associated with masonry, e.g., freemasonry, of which my theme is anything but. I don’t mind, though, if my e-words get all bound up by e-mortar (snigger).

Observation #2: I find it awesome as well that there is a JS grid layout library called Masonry. Cool. Would be nice to try and use that sometime in the future, as namesake.

This is actually meant to be a placeholder post of sorts – it makes me flip my lip whenever I see how much time has trickled by without me updating at least a bit. The truth is this (takes deep breath). After some months of feverish data gobbling and key tackling, I found myself, well, stuck. Everyone’s favorite work word.

In the old days, the ‘stuck’ thing used to terrify me. I thought I was unique in my suckiness. Not until my net reach got wider and learned to my relief that I’m not alone. It’s the kind of ‘stuck’ any creative or techie goes through every now and then when things just don’t work out the way you want them to.

So, as is my wont to be appreciative of those who value hard work and generosity, I appreciate those who write articles that address these issues, and do so in a real-world-setting way.

My Rebuttal To “Why Learning To Code Is So Darn Hard” – {by Jose Kemp}

How To Survive The Desert of Despair in Your Code-Learning Journey – {by Roberto Rocha}

I noticed that what they say about setting goals is indeed true, and I discovered that it was my problem as well, but that it wasn’t insurmountable (nor unusual). I got so caught up wanting to learn everything at once, so it’s a swift kick-in-the-posterior for me to start streamlining my vision, so to speak.

After all, no one who’s an expert today started out that way. They all began as newbies, too. It’s a path we all take. They say there’s a huge need for people in IT now and in the near future. Here’s hoping by then to be at least one of them.

Leave a Reply

